BAC Journal > 14 BAC Members Graduate from IMTEF’s 2017 Instructor Certification Program

14 BAC Members Graduate from IMTEF’s 2017 Instructor Certification Program

2017 Issue 4

Fourteen BAC instructors graduated from IMI/IMTEF’s annual Instructor Certification Program (ICP) in November 2017. ICP is a 5-year, 200-hour educational program that develops instructors’ skills so they can more effectively train BAC members. 

“Training apprentices is an extremely rewarding career. Although I took pride in all the work I did in the field, it’s a different feeling when you can train someone and then get him or her a union job. For a lot of my apprentices, these are life-changing opportunities.” 
Gavin Collier, Tile Apprenticeship Coordinator

—BAC ADC 1 of Illinois District Council Training Center in Chicago (DCTC) 

ICP participants are journey-level craftworkers employed as instructors by local apprenticeship programs. Through ICP, these instructors learn how to structure a training program that meets the needs of members throughout their working life. 

“ICP has provided me with the structure and knowledge to put together a solid [training] program,” said Christopher Busch of BAC Local 3 Iowa. 

“I now specifically find myself trying to identify learning styles with my students to improve their retention of knowledge from the start of their apprenticeship,” 

—Dan Flores of Local 4 IN/KY.

Eric Doherty of Local 4 New Jersey affirmed: “To be a certified instructor in the eyes of IMI will be the greatest accomplishment of my career in the masonry field.” 


ICP graduates along with BAC and IMTEF leaders, front row from left: Bob Arnold, IMTEF National Training Director; Eric Doherty of Local 4 NJ; Richard Taylor of Local 5 OK/AR/TX; IU Secretary-Treasurer Tim Driscoll; IU President James Boland; Joseph Pugliano of Local 9 PA; Joseph Schmidt of Local 3 NY; Dennis Whytas of Local 3 NY; David Naprstek of Local 74 IL. Back row from left: Jeffrey Garnett of Local 18 OH/KY; Keith Inglin of Local 4 NJ; Christopher Busch of Local 3 IA; Gavin Collier of Local 21 IL; Stephen Carney IV of Local 1 CT; David Manko of Local 9 PA; Anthony Demme of Local 21 IL, and Dan Flores of Local 4 IN/KY.